Built in 1908, The King’s Library was designed by Thomas J Bailey and boasts the status of the first purpose-built secondary school in England. The building was vacated by its then occupier (Kensington and Chelsea college) and remained empty until it was used as Stephen Hawkin’s classrooms in the movie The Theory of Everything in 2011.
The key features and characteristics have been preserved during the sympathetic restoration by Tenhurst, whilst converting the building into 18 luxury residences. Each apartment has been thoughtfully designed by Robin Partingham and Partners Architects, conserving the history of the building whilst turning it into a contemporary and luxurious place to live.
Blueridge worked closely with Tenhurst and Helen Green Design Ltd to create a timeless parquet floor which is being installed throughout the apartments, including the penthouse which is currently on the market for around £18 million.
Our floors were hand finished in our workshops, using a hardwax oil, and arrived on site ready to lay by our team of installers. The finish allows the floors to be re-coated to bring back their lustre and finish, something that isn’t easily achieved with a factory finished floor.
Our involvement in the project will continue as the remaining apartments are finished and work begins on the next phase, The King’s Chapel. This striking piece of architecture, designed by Edward Blore, is being converted into two imposing town houses by Tenhurst and will feature our Blueridge oak floors.
Check back soon for more updates and images of these stunning projects as work progresses.